Sunday, January 22, 2012

Four Noble Truths,Five Precepts,Eight folded paths,Precepts,Acts of Merit Of lord Buddha

Four Noble Truths

  • Existence of Sorrow
  • Cause of Sorrow
  • Cessation of Sorrow
  • Way which leads
    to the cessation of Sorrow

Five Precepts

  • Take the precept to Abstain from killing.
  • Take the precept to Abstain from Stealing.
  • Take the precept to Abstain from Adultery.
  • Take the precept to Abstain from Lying.
  • Take the precept to Abstain from Liquor.


  • Right Understanding
  • Right Thought
  • Right Speech
  • Right Actions
  • Right Livelihood
  • Right Effort
  • Right Mindfulness
  • Right Concentration


  • Do not Kill.
  • Do not steal.
  • Do not commit adultery.
  • Do not tell lies.
  • Do not slander.
  • Do not speak harshly.
  • Do not engage in idle talks.
  • Do not covet others property.
  • Do not show hatred.
  • Think righteously.

Acts of Merit

  • Give charity to the deserving.
  • Observe the percepts of morality.
  • Cultivate and develop good thoughts.
  • Render sevice and attend on others.
  • Honour and nurse parents and elders.
  • Give a share of your merits to others.
  • Accept the merits that others give you.
  • Hear the doctrine of righteousness.
  • Preach the doctrine of righteousness.
  • Rectify your faults.

1 comment: